Cool apps for middle and high school science

For part of a class for technology in the science classroom we taught mini lesson to our peers using technology.  Through the process of choosing and developing a lesson for middle school science, I discovered some pretty nifty apps that translate really well in the classroom and provide students with a hands on, visually appealing way to learn about science – specifically biology for the lesson I created.

I thought I’d post them here so other folks can see if they might work for their classroom planning purposes.

iCell 3-d cell model  – I used this one on my Microsoft Surface to take advantage of the touchscreen capability.  It gives students the option to see and interact with a 3-d model of a plant, animal or bacteria cell.  Each part is labeled with a definition that you can see when you touch the organelle.  The text can be adjust from basic, to intermediate to advanced.  This is what I used for my lesson.  It was free windows store download.

Adaptive Curriculum apps – I looked at several of their apps before choosing to use iCell.  Their apps are interactive, provide scaffolding of learning and built in assessments.  They do charge for their apps, but they are a relatively minimal cost at $1.99 to $2.99 for the ones I was considering.

Apps and screen time can’t replace all learning in the classroom, but it is a nice way to change the pace, keep students engaged and appeal to those learners who may be more visual in nature.

3 thoughts on “Cool apps for middle and high school science

  1. Hey, Keely! Thank you for sharing the links! I’m having a hard time getting iCell to work on my Mac, so I’ll have to keep playing with it!

    I’m actually doing my lesson on cell structure and function, too (though just animal cells)! I really enjoyed your lesson because you have the students interact with each other and actually teach one another. Also, I loved the iCell interactive diagram!

    Like

  2. I really appreciated you showing us the iCell app, I think it is so cool that we have ways to “physically” interact with cell structures, as cells and all of the concepts that go with them can be so abstract in nature since most of their parts can’t even be seen, at least without expensive equipment! I think for students who are seeing cellular biology for the first time these kind of apps could be super helpful in helping them develop a sort of picture in their mind of what a cell looks like with all of its parts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

